Praying for Patience

The last few days have been long, and in some cases, arduous. It seems as though my journey keeps getting interrupted by harmful thoughts and behaviors, and as quickly as I can change one, another new one pops up and rears its ugly head.

DD seems to be cycling through a virus. It almost seems as though whenever she starts to recover, another cold hits her. Yesterday she was hit pretty hard, and her fever spiked up high enough that even DH realized that she needed to go to the hospital. Then, as soon as we got there, the fever broke. After forty minutes of waiting and not even being called to registration, we left and went home, gave her some Tylenol and put her to bed. The sleep broke the fever, and the fever seems to have beaten whatever infection she had.

Still, it’s frustrating. I hate it when she’s sick. She’s a high-needs baby as it is, and some people would probably call her “spoiled.” Even when she’s feeling fine, it’s hard for me to get a moment to shower because she wants to be held or talked to or simply know that we’re there. The worst part about it is that sometimes I feel that I’m fostering that fear by having to leave her by herself just to get a shower or take care of housework.

I’ve never been the most patient woman in the world. I cherish my “me time” as much as anyone, if not sometimes more. I have days when I just feel as though my head is going to explode if I can’t put her down for a few minutes and rest. Some days it’s physically tiring, other days it’s just emotionally taxing. Thankfully she’s the only child in the home or I don’t know how I would survive!

I know that I need to develop more patience, and tonight I ask my Heavenly Father to guide me in this journey. I ask that He bring me closer to my daughter and that He give me the resources that I need to parent her. I acknowledge that He will not give me a challenge that is greater than what I can meet, and that He will be there to catch me when I fall.

Today I acknowledge as well that my DD is a true miracle, given to our family by God Himself, and that it is my responsibility and privilege to raise her to love Him as I do.

Published in: on October 1, 2008 at 1:07 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://livinghim.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/praying-for-patience/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Saw your blog on the Recent Posts list. It piqued my interest because I will forever remember a pastor of mine telling us not to pray for patience…because God will make us wait for it!

    At the risk of sounding like a know-it-all parent, it’s hard to have a newborn and it’s heartbreaking when they are sick. It does get better. And then you wonder how they got so big and where all the time went.

    Please do take your shower. You can’t take care of the kid if you don’t take care of yourself. My wife found that going to a new mom’s support group was a real sanity preserver (a kind of “me” time, perhaps). It’s worth a try if they have one near you, maybe at your hospital.

    I’ll pray for your strength, your daughter’s health, and even for patience for you. 🙂

    You can do it.

    All my best,
    Billy

  2. Thank you, Billy. It’s been a rough past six weeks or so with her getting sick, then better, then sick again.

    I acknowledge that God will challenge my patience as a means of teaching it to me. That’s all I hope for, is His guidance, and sometimes it doesn’t come in the forms we want it to, does it?

    Thank you so much for your comments!

  3. I stumbled across your blog. Please dear if you read this be very careful in your prayer for patience. Keep it specific to particular situations because prayers for a change in nature are not easy. Patience can only be learned through trials which i have learned personally. Years ago I used to struggle with impatience – especially with daily grind and parenting as you described. I prayed frequently for patience. I am no longer an impatient person but the lessons were taught to me in very drastic and life changing ways. Patience is not a prayer to take lightly and you should be sure that you are ready for things to get well beyond what you think it would take.


Leave a Reply

